Home Entertainment List: Film Independent Spirit Award Winners 2016

List: Film Independent Spirit Award Winners 2016

Spotlight, which has been nominated in multiple categories at the Academy Awards to be announced on Sunday, has won the Best Feature Film at the Film Independent Spirit Awards.

The Spirit Awards are being given for over three decades to honor independent films. The ceremony id usually held at Santa Monica the day before the Oscar event.

Here is the complete list of winners of Spirit awards:

Best Feature Film: Spotlight

Best Director: Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best Female Lead: Brie Larson, Room

Best Male Lead: Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation

Best Supporting Female: Mya Taylor, Tangerine

Best Supporting Male: Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation

Best Cinematography: Ed Lachman, Carol

Best International Film: Son of Saul

Best Screenplay: Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, Spotlight

Best Documentary: The Look of Silence

Best Editing: Tom McArdle, Spotlight

Best First Feature: Marielle Heller, The Diary of a Teenage Girl

Best First Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, Room