What Made International Cricket Council Change Super Over Rule?
What Made International Cricket Council Change Super Over Rule?

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has changed the super over rule for all its major events.

The move came following the uproar over the outcome of the men’s World cup final this year when England were declared winners against New Zealand on boundary count.

How does the new rule work?

As per new rule, in case of a super over tie there will be a repeated super over until one team has more runs than the other.

A Super Over is a tie-breaking method used in limited-overs cricket matches, where both teams play a single, additional over of six balls to determine the winner of the match.

A match which goes to a Super Over is officially declared a “tie”, and won by the team who scored the most runs in the Super Over.

If the Super Over also ends in a tie, the winner is typically decided by the number of boundaries scored throughout the match.

As per new rules, group stage matches that are still tied after a Super Over will remain as a tie. Matches in either a semi-final or final that are tied, will continue until one team wins a Super Over.

A Super Over was first used in 2008 in Twenty20, replacing the bowl-out method that was previously used for breaking a tie.